fbpx

Features

Calendar

Register

Trade

Talks

Events

Trade

Talks

Events

Days

Countries

Rugs

Exhibitors

Talks

Events

THE VIRTUAL FAIR 

Featuring 37 of the most coveted international rug brands—selected by COVER—Trade will act as a virtual launchpad for new collections and the latest designs. It offers numerous encounters with outstanding rugs and the companies who create them. 

INSPIRING PANEL DISCUSSIONS 

COVER has invited some of the most eminent and innovative figures in the handmade rug industry to discuss inspiring projects and exemplary practices. Seven Talks will address the interrelated themes of Sustainability, Collaboration and Interior Design. 

EXHIBITORS’ CREATIVE CONTENT 

Exclusive digital content presented by Trade exhibitors to provide background information on their company ethos, new collections, design processes and production values. Including interviews, live sales, showroom tours and documentary videos. 

Features

TRADE

Tania Johnson

The textile designer and COVER Connect Trade exhibitor discusses the story behind her new rug collection, Venezia—inspired by water, but not in the way she first envisioned—it draws on the famous lagoon city’s water-stained surfaces.

Features

Trade

Samad

Samad’s new collection Meridian blends traditional styling and artisan craft with the colour palettes that reflect the hues of contemporary homes. The New Jersey-based firm is exhibiting in Trade at COVER Connect.

Features

Trade

Tamarian

Ahead of exhibiting new pieces in Trade at COVER Connect, Tamarian’s new owner, Ryan Higgins, discusses possible changes of direction for the US company with close ties to Nepal with HALI Editor, Ben Evans.

 
 
 
 
 

What’s on Calendar

12

JANUARY

Documentary

THIBAULT VAN RENNE

ONCE UPON A TVR

15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET/ 10:00 EST / 7:00 PST

View Event

Documentary

KRISTIINA LASSUS

KNOTS OF TRADITION

15:30 GMT / 16:30 CET/ 10:30 EST / 7:30 PST

View Event

Virtual Rug Show & Sale

KCEC (KABUL CARPET EXPORT CENTER)

LIVE FROM KABUL, AFGHANISTAN

16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET/ 11:00 EST / 8:00 PST

View Event

Panel Discussion

SUSTAINABILITY IN DESIGN

Panel ChairGrant Gibson

SpeakersClaudy Jongstra, Simone Post, Tanja Kirst

17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET/ 12:00 EST / 9:00 PST

View Talk

Panel Discussion

SUSTAINABILITY IN PRACTICE

Panel ChairBen Evans

Speakers: Michael Christie, Susan Inglis, Reto Aschwanden, Scott Welker

18:00 GMT / 19:00 CET/ 13:00 EST / 10:00 PST

View Talk

13

JANUARY

Interview

BATTILOSSI

THEY SAY ABOUT US 

 15:30 GMT / 16:30 CET/ 10:30 EST / 7:30 PST

View Event

Interview

TOPFLOOR BY ESTI

MATRIX COLLECTION COLLABORATORS

16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET/ 11:00 EST / 8:00 PST

View Event

In Conversation

CHOUDHARY EXPORTS

CONVERGENCE COLLECTION COLLABORATORS

16:30 GMT / 17:30 CET/ 11:30 EST / 8:30 PST

View Event

Panel Discussion

COLLABORATION IN DESIGN

Panel Chair: Bethan Ryder

Speakers: Kiki Van Eijk, Fabrizio Cantoni, Bethan Laura Wood, Yogesh Chaudhary, Matteo Cibic

 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET/ 12:00 EST / 9:00 PST

View Talk

In conversation

DESIGN INSPIRED BY HERITAGE

Sebastian Conran, Thalia Kennedy, Toby Ash

 18:00 GMT / 19:00 CET/ 13:00 EST / 10:00 PST

View Talk

14

JANUARY

Presentation

CLASSIC RUG COLLECTION

DESIGNING A FRANK LLOYD WRIGHT RUG COLLECTION FOR THE 21ST CENTURY

 14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET/ 9:00 EST / 6:00 PST

View Event

Introducing

BATTILOSSI

CALEIDO CONCEPT NO.1 

 16:30 GMT / 17:30 CET/ 11:30 EST / 8:30 PST

View Event

Panel Discussion

COLLABORATION IN INTERIORS

Panel Chair: Carol Sebert

Speakers: Glenn Pushelberg, Emma O’Neill, Eric Mcclelland

 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET/ 12:00 EST / 9:00 PST

View Talk

Panel Discussion

INTERIOR DESIGN

Panel Chair: Vanessa Brady

Speakers: Erinn Valencich, Shalini Misra, Kar-Hwa Ho

 18:00 GMT / 19:00 CET/ 13:00 EST / 10:00 PST

View Talk

15

JANUARY

Panel Discussion

INTERNATIONAL TRADE FAIRS

Panel Chair: Ben Evans

Speakers: Sonia Wedell-Castellano, Reza Rejaye, Christoph Ziereis

 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET/ 12:00 EST / 9:00 PST

View Talk

ON
DEMAND

Introducing 

CC-TAPIS 

GESTURE 

Watch now 

Documentary 

CREATIVE MATTERS 

CREATIVITY, COLLECTIONS & CUSTOMIZATION 

Watch now 

Virtual exhibition 

EDELGRUND 

GEOMETRIC POETRY

Watch now 

Introducing 

FLOOR_STORY 

CHILD STUDIO X FLOOR_STORY 

Watch now 

Introducing 

FRENCH ACCENTS 

NEW COLLECTIONS FROM THE NEW YORK CITY SHOWROOM 

Watch now 

Presentation 

NOA LIVING 

THOUSAND-YEAR-OLD LICHEN AND MOMENTARY RIPPLES: THE MAKING OF ENERGY FIELDS 

Watch now 

Virtual exhibition

SAMAD 

NEW COLLECTIONS 2021: NORDIC, MERIDIAN & TRIUMPH 

Watch now 

Stack stroll 

TAMARIAN 

NEW RELEASES FROM THE FALL AND WINTER COLLECTIONS 

Watch now 

Introducing 

TANIA JOHNSON 

THE VENEZIA COLLECTION 

Watch now 

 

Features

TALKS

CLAUDY JONGSTRA

Raising indigenous sheep and growing a botanical garden for natural dyes in The Netherlands, ‘Sustainability in Design’ Talk speaker Claudy Jongstra maintains a completely sustainable practice. Discover her art, activism and current exhibition at Museum De Lakenhal, Leiden.

Features

TALKS

SIMONE POST

In 2018, sportswear giant Adidas contacted Simone Post after seeing her upcycled carpets for textiles company Vlisco. She went on to design rugs from worn sports shoes, hard-wearing enough to be placed in Adidas’s stores, as she will explain in the ‘Sustainability in Design’ Talk.

Features

TALKS

TANJA KIRST

‘Sustainability in Design’ Talk speaker Tanja Kirst sees hemp as a more sustainable alternative to cotton, having studied the material for her Masters project at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts. Her hemp rugs and textiles thoughtful in both design and production.

COVER CONNECT TALKS

What can the handmade rug industry do to adapt and thrive in the current climate? It must strive to be sustainable, to collaborate and to interact with the interior design world. COVER has invited some of the most successful and creative minds in the industry to discuss inspiring projects and exemplary practices that demonstrate the potential power of these actions. Seven panel discussions featuring thirty distinguished, celebrated and well-informed speakers will tackle the three interrelated topics of Sustainability, Collaboration and Interior Design. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

COVER CONNECT EVENTS

In the Event series, expect new content from Trade exhibitors, such as: explanations of the custom capabilities of Creative Matters and Battilossi with input from existing clients; a documentary tracking the fifty-year history of Thibault Van Renne; insight into the design and production processes of Kriistina Lassus, FLOOR_STORY, Tania JohnsonClassic Rug Collection and NOA Living; a showroom tour with French Accents; a live rug sale from KCEC. Interviews with rug companies and collaborators, including Topfloor by Esti + artist Gianluca Francese and Choudhary Exports + artist James Vella Clark + DAAA Haus, will provide insight to the stories and people behind the rugs. 

 
 
 
 
 

Media Partners

Sponsors